Dstl Board


Photo of Sir Richard Mottram

Sir Richard Mottram

Appointed 1 August 2008
Sir Richard is also Chairman of Amey plc, Vice Chairman of The Ditchley Foundation, a Board Member of Ashridge Business School and a Visiting Professor at the London School of Economics. He was formerly a civil servant and was a Permanent Secretary from 1992 to 2007, with roles in the Office of Public Service and Science, the MOD, and in the Cabinet Office with responsibility for intelligence and security (including as Chairman of the Joint Intelligence Committee). Sir Richard spent much of his earlier career in MOD working on defence strategy and policy and corporate planning of the defence programme.

Non-Executive Directors

Photo of Elisabeth Astall

Elisabeth Astall

Appointed 1 September 2009
Elisabeth Astall is a former Director of Accenture UK where she specialised in serving government clients, including the NHS, the Home Office and the Department of Social Security. She also has extensive experience in the private sector, working with clients such as Rolls-Royce, British Aerospace and British Steel. Elisabeth is a Trustee of the Social Mobility Foundation and a member of the Council of the London School of Economics.
Photo of Gerard Connell

Gerard Connell

Appointed 1 October 2011
Gerard brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the role. He is the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit committee of Pennon Group Plc, a company at the top end of the FTSE 250, and was formerly Group Finance Director of Wincanton Plc As well as his Board role, Gerard has been appointed Chairman of Dstl's Audit Committee.
Photo of Dame Wendy Hall

Dame Wendy Hall

Appointed 1 June 2012
Wendy is Professor of Computer Science at the University of Southampton and Dean of the Faculty of Physical and Applied Sciences. She became a Dame Commander of the British Empire and elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2009. With Tim Berners-Lee and Nigel Shadbolt, Dame Wendy co-founded the Web Science Research Initiative in 2006. She is currently a Director of the Web Science Trust.
Photo of Dr David Grant

Dr David Grant

Appointed 1 June 2012
David is a Non-Executive Director of Renishaw plc, and is Senior Independent Director of IQE plc. He was Vice-Chancellor of Cardiff University from 2001 to 2012. He has held leadership positions in a number of international businesses including Dowty Group plc and GEC plc. He was a Vice-President of the Royal Academy of Engineering from 2007 to 2012 and is a Governing Board member of the Technology Strategy Board and is Chairman of STEMNET
Photo of Carole Tolley

Carole Tolley

MOD Director of Resources Head Office and Corporate Finance
Appointed 1 May 2012
Carole took up her Ministry of Defence role in September 2011. During her managerial career in the MOD, Carole has had a variety of roles including operational Secretariat work, central resource planning and programming and responsibility for the MOD’s internal approvals and scrutiny process.

Executive Directors

Photo of Jonathan Lyle

Jonathan Lyle

Chief Executive
Appointed 1 March 2010
Jonathan has enjoyed a distinguished career in MOD and wider Government spanning more than 20 years. Jonathan's previous roles include Director General Helicopters in DE&S and Director of the College of Management and Technology at the Defence Academy, Shrivenham. Earlier in his career, Jonathan was involved in critical work in Whitehall on strengthening S&T procurement and the restructuring of the Research Councils. He was appointed Programme Office Director at Dstl in March 2010 and became Chief Executive in March 2012.
Photo of Richard Brooks

Richard Brooks

Programme Delivery Director
Richard is responsible for the planning, formulation and delivery of defence's overall non-nuclear science and technology programme. He joined the MOD in 1983 as a member of the Royal Corps of Naval Constructors and has worked for a number of organisations on project management and change programmes, communications and HR including the Defence Research Agency, MOD Procurement Executive, Defence Procurement Agency and Defence Logistics Organisation. In 2007 Richard joined the UK Hydrographic Office with executive responsibilities for corporate services including the programme support office, operations and the transformation programme.
Pete Thompson

Pete Thompson

Deputy Chief Executive
Appointed 4 January 2012
Previously Head of MOD's Counter Terrorism Science and Technology Centre, Peter was promoted to the Dstl Executive in 2009 as Programme Director (Research and Technology). In 2010, he was appointed Programme Director (Security Science and Technology) and then spent 12 months supporting the MOD Chief Scientific Adviser as Head of Strategy for Defence Science and Technology at MOD Headquarters, Whitehall. Peter returned to Dstl in January 2012 as Director Corporate Strategy and took up his appointment to the Board. Peter has been Deputy Chief Executive since April 2013.
Photo of Mark Alexander

Mark Alexander

Finance Director
Appointed 7 December 2009
Mark Alexander joined Dstl from Ordnance Survey, where he was Director of Finance. Mark has more than 20 years’ experience in all aspects of financial management in the public and private sectors. He has also held senior roles at the construction group Bovis Lend Lease, train operator Laing Rail and in the technology sector at AEA Technology.

* All appointment dates relate to current roles on the Board.